tech-ucation reformation

Goodbye overheads and chalkboards! Hello virtual "paperless" classrooms!

Designing Instruction From a Multimedia Perspective June 20, 2014

Filed under: 5110 — S. Michele Holmes @ 5:06 am
Tags: , , , ,

Now that we have completed the text-only version and the graphics-only version of our instruction sets for my Multimedia in Technology Applications class, it is time to combine the two forms of media.  This combination is perhaps the modality I use the most with my students.  The opportunity to view text and pictures is always available from the posters on my classroom walls to my lesson slides.  I feel I have somewhat of an advantage with this module because of both the age of the students and the content area I teach.  Fifth grade students still need concrete examples for optimal learning, and science lives and breathes through diagrams and models.  So this is really how I intend to tackle the project – basically create my instruction set as I would my lesson slides. I must admit I struggled with how to execute the text-only and graphics-only instructions, so I am glad to be incorporating text with the graphics this time.  They complement each other so well that people are fairly oblivious to the fact that they usually appear together.  Consider advertising in magazines and on billboards.  While much of the advertising keeps the graphics and text to a minimum, rarely are they without each other.  And even when text is meant to appear without visuals, such as in novels, people still benefit from any visual support including the book jacket, a movie based on the book, maps appearing inside the cover, etc.  I seriously cannot read any Harry Potter novel without seeing the actors playing those characters in the movie versions.  Sometimes we fill in our own mental images when none exist.  I prefer non-fiction over fiction which just lends itself to being organized by headings and subheadings; I can visualize the graphic organizers forming as I preview the text.  On the other hand, my husband is an avid fiction reader, and he has explained to me that when he reads, he actually visualizes the events in his mind in movie form as they unfold.  My students are not there yet; they still need support, especially my English language learners.  But there is no denying the importance of enhancing text with graphics and graphics with text.  My biggest concern with this project is how visual my instruction set really is – even though I struggled with creating the graphics-only version, it really doesn’t need much text.  Had I chosen another topic, the roles could be reversed.  This would be the question for any set of instructions.  How does a designer find the balance between text and graphics?

 

Leave a Reply

